Welcome to Greenpix

I’m not a big fan of those “… for Dummies” books. The books themselves are okay, I suppose, but the titles are a bit insulting. They seem to imply that we’re a bunch of idiots who need help with even the simplest of tasks.

I personally think we’re all a bit smarter than that. I happen to know something (maybe not much, in the grand scheme of things) about photography, and I thought that if I shared it with you a little at a time, I’d be able to help you along your way to creating photos as beautiful as the crafts you create.

Although I hope a wide variety of readers will come to enjoy my posts, this blog is primarily geared to those who sell on Etsy.com. Here you’ll find tips and techniques to improve your product photographs, information about cameras and lenses, discussions about lighting and some other fun goodies. I’ll be posting a few of my own favorite photos, as well as examples of photos taken by other Etsy sellers along with a discussion of what makes these photos stand out.

Don’t forget to subscribe to receive email notification when new posts are available.

And finally, some self-promotion – click here to see my Etsy photography shop.

7 thoughts on “Welcome to Greenpix

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hello world! « Greenpix's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Great info. I was going to go to the library today to get some books on photography but they probably wouldn’t have been as helpful as your blog, and not as product specific. Instead, I think I’ll go get one of those bendy, claw-like, tripod thingies and play. Again, thanks, and if you’re not already flooded with requests, I’d appreciate any critiques of my stores photos.

    • Norm,

      Thanks for the kind words – I’m glad you found the information helpful. I just looked at your shop, and I think you do beautiful work. The one change that you can make that would give you the biggest improvement would be to simply display your pieces in the location in which they would be used. Two examples — (1) Put those cutting boards on a kitchen counter instead of against a block wall. (2) Put that message board in a hallway or next to a phone instead of against the house siding. But be careful of how you set up your shots. Although you want the location to be obvious, you don’t want a lot of unnecessary distractions in the background. Once you have the scene set, then you can start concentrating on other issues like lighting and focus.

      Good luck!

  3. Hey there, I saw this blog through esty and I have to say I’m so glad I found it. I wanted to get down and dirty with how to make my future shop shine so I’m looking up the subject on taking pictures.

    I’m looking forward to all of your blog posts and thank you for making this!

  4. Greenpix is always spot on and very informative. I appreciate the attention to detail and the useful info. you bring each and every time. I also have to say ‘THANK YOU VERY MUCH’ for incuding my ‘Wagon Wheel’ pic in this feature of ‘Nice Folks, Nice Things’…Very unexpected, but very nice indeed.

    Your blog is one of the most helpful I’ve ever read regarding digital camera’s and photo’s in general. Layman’s terms is one thing, but your clear concise wording is what makes it work so well…that and your very approachable manner. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

