Before & After – Rectangle Hoop Earrings

Annette (PreciousMetalsWire) took me up on the offer that I made last time for a free studio session for one of her items. She chose a set of sterling silver rectangle hoop earrings, and says “silver earwires are a pain to take pictures of, because they always looked washed out to me.” Here’s one of Annette’s photo of this item: I think Annette was being a bit too hard on herself. That’s really a pretty nice shot – good focus, no camera shake, proper exposure, realistic colors and an overall good representation of the earrings. But since I made the offer, I thought I’d give it a go and see what else I could come up with. First, a simple shot with the earrings suspended in front of a plain white background (click to zoom): Next, a close-up against the same background: Then, for a more dramatic effect, the earrings laying on a reflective black background:

And for a totally unexpected and fun look, and to show some sense of scale, a caffeinated shot:

There you have it. A variety of photos that I hope show off the beautiful simplicity of Annette’s earrings. Click here if you want to see a few more.

Next time — Art Deco Wine Glass Charms.

5 thoughts on “Before & After – Rectangle Hoop Earrings

  1. I’m sure Annette is thrilled with your beautiful shots of her rectangular hoops. Especially love the close up and the earrings laying on the reflective background … and I know exactly where I can get my hands on one for myself ;D

  2. I like the close up and shiny black background photos. I have a question, when you use a F stop like 8, it gives the photo a lot more depth and perspective and the details in the back look out of focus which I like…but when you are selling jewelry on Etsy (which I do) and a customer wants to see details on the earrings they will only get a fuzzy picture. Not sure what’s better for sales!
    I would appreciate your opinion. Thanks so much

    • Well, I can certainly help you control your depth of field, whether shallow or deep. But when it comes to opining about what your customers might like better, I’m clueless. What I might suggest is that you do some of each (putting your most eye-catching shot in the first slot, of course). You can have a few “creative” shots where you minimize the depth of field, and a few “conventional” shots where you make an effort to show the entire item in focus.

      One thing to keep in mind though is that not images with out-of-focus areas are created equal. The term “bokeh” generally refers to the aesthetic quality of the out-of-focus area. There are some lenses that provide really nasty bokeh, and others that give you a soft, dreamy look. The shots on the black and the coffee backgrounds exhibit pleasant bokeh, as does this image: https://www.etsy.com/listing/84204167/oktoberfest-beer-photo-octoberfest-art?ref=exp_listing

  3. Yes, I vote for the reflective black background too. If ever I manage to get ‘arty’ shots of my products – which would normally be by accident! – I never know whether to use the shot as my lead photo or not. I think it might help get you into treasury collections on Etsy but I don’t know about a sale. Hopefully, it would make the client look at the rest of your photos which could be more ‘conventional’ and at least you’ve managed to show off your photography skills too.

Leave a comment